Books

Watching Traffic

Processed with VSCO with q3 preset

After Jays Game- Taken by Tori

I go to chapters a lot. And I read a lot. One day in chapters I roamed the teen fiction section reading multiply backs of books trying to find some good sounding books that are over looked or just not praised enough. I came across a book called Watching Traffic by Jane Ozkowski. Basically it’s about this girl who has just graduated high school and it’s the summer before everyone is going away to school or doing something with their life’s but she doesn’t know what she’s going to do. I related to this because I thought I knew what I wanted to do but ended up dropping out of my first year of college and taking the second semester off. I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life anymore and part of that was because I had no interest in anything and was dealing with a lot. Around the same time I was diagnosed with an eating disorder so in the mean time I was at chapters reading backs of books, and that’s where Watching Traffic comes in.

The first couple chapters of this book were really interesting because I personally related to this girl a lot. She loves peanut butter and so do I, she works in a bakery and so do I and obviously, she doesn’t know what she’s going to do with her life and is sad her friends are all moving away which I relate to now.

The girls’ mom committed suicide when she was younger and the book continues with her meeting a guy and falling in love but denying it at first and her best friend turning lesbian, so that part I didn’t really relate to but I still found it a great story. It was a short and sweet book, it didn’t drag on which I really liked and it was just a good story. In the end, she doesn’t really figure out what she wants to do with her life but it’s still a happy ending because she comes to peace with her friends leaving and the life she’s living.

Definitely in my top 10 favourites.

Leave a Reply

