Food

Cheesecake Galore

Processed with VSCO with 5 preset

Cookies and Creme Cheesecake- Taken (and eaten) by Tori

I’m going to get right to the point. This restaurant in Peterborough called Kettle Drums has one of the best homemade cheesecakes ever. They don’t keep it the same they switch it up and try not flavours. It’s not the heavy cheesecake either, it’s like whipped and its light and the graham cracker crust is moist and heavenly. I have experiences many different flavours from them and have not been disappointed once. Whenever me my dad and sister go there we usually get one and split it between the three of us. There have been ones I like more and ones that were just ok but never have I not been pleased but a flavour combination that they have created.

The first one I ever had was a cookie and crème cheesecake. This one is tied for number one with a peanut butter cheesecake. Now we all know I have a sweet tooth so this may not be the favourite amongst others but it was a treat to my taste buds. The fluffy white cheesecake was combined with the classic Hershey’s cookies and crème chocolate bar and as if that wasn’t enough there were but of the chocolate bar on top as well. And finished with a light drizzle of chocolate. It’s the lightness of the cake and the sweetness from the chocolate and the salty from the cheese that makes it irresistible.

The peanut butter one was good because I love peanut butter but I will admit it was simple unlike the cookies and crème one and it was also heavier because of the peanut butter. I did still enjoy it though. There was a slight drizzle of chocolate on top of this one as well but I think it needed something. I think maybe some chocolate chips incorporated into the cheesecake would of gave it that Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup feel. More maybe even bits of Reese’s Pieces on top to just give it more of a crunch.

The other ones I have had were the ones that were just ok. One of them was blueberry, now I hate blueberries but it was a subtle taste and so I didn’t mind it that much. it’s really the fluffy but creamy cheesecake part that is so addictive and putting good topping in just adds to the amazingness. Another one we tired was maple walnut which was kind of disappointing. I didn’t taste the maple much and the walnuts weren’t inside the cheesecake like I thought they would be, they were just on top. It kind of just tasted like a plain one because there wasn’t even that many walnuts either so the cheese just over powered everything, but nevertheless it was still good.

Around thanksgiving they had a pumpkin one which sounded amazing, we were going to get it then the waitress came back and said the last piece had been sold. We were all very saddened and the only other one was the blueberry one which my dad loves but me and my sister don’t like as much.

Overall the cheesecakes are all amazing and whoever makes them has a gift. My family and I go there at least once a month and I look forward to finding out the flavour of cheesecake as soon as I step in the front door.

 

Leave a Reply

